General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Am I Going About Training All Wrong? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-09-29 7:05 PM

Subject: Am I Going About Training All Wrong?
I'm very new to endurance sports, and as such my endurance is really bad for my age/athleticism. I've been swimming/biking/running these past 3 weeks solid, and I'm starting to wonder if I'm going about it all wrong. A couple of points:

- I bought a Garmin 910XT w/ HRM to aid my training
- I've been using it on the bike and run but not the swim because I am barely swimming 50m at a time right now
- I upload all my data after each session and now that I'm looking at my heart rate I'm wondering if I'm training wrong.

I'm 5'9 175lbs around 10% bodyfat. I have a lot of lean mass (arguably) but what concerns me is my average heart rate for my running has been around 160bpm, and for the bike it's been around 155bpm. My average run with that rate is 3.04m and for the bike 13m.

Am I exerting too much energy? Can anything be said without knowing my MHR and RHR? I've been trying to read up on HR for training but I thought I would ask first. I'm trying to compete in my first sprint early next year hopefully, and I don't want to be spinning my wheels until then because so far I don't feel much more conditioned from when I first started 3 weeks ago.

2015-09-29 7:21 PM
in reply to: manimal

Subject: RE: Am I Going About Training All Wrong?
For starters - welcome and congrats on your decision to enter endurance sports.

Without knowing your age, there's not much anyone can help you with on target HRs, please provide.

Lastly - you've only been training 3 weeks, you aren't supposed to see significant benefits/progress just yet.

Give it more like 3 months.
2015-09-29 7:31 PM
in reply to: H2OhNo

Sorry, I'm 29.