General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-10-04 11:00 AM

Subject: Bike
Hello everyone,

My name is Brandon and I'm brand new to the sport. I'm about to by a GMC road bike sold at wal-mart for my bike because I don't make alot of money being a corrections officer. Does anyone have any advice on it. Can I upgrade it to a better bike by changing components. I know these questions sound stupid but I'll say it. I'm a newb.

Thank you,
Brandon

2015-10-04 12:43 PM
in reply to: frostie0927

Subject: RE: Bike
Is it the GMC Denali? I bought one as my first bike. They're not bad, but far from great...very heavy with lower end components. If you get bit by the bug, you will outgrow it very quickly (it took me about a month before I knew I wanted something better).

In my personal opinion, you can do a lot better by shopping on Ebay, Craigslist, or any of the various bike or triathlon forums. You can pick up a very nice, well kept, used bike for pennies on the dollar, and it will serve you much better than anything you find at Wall Mart.

This time of year, with the bike season in MI ending, the demand is low and there are a lot more deals to be had.

2015-10-04 6:21 PM
in reply to: dpd3672

User image

Ottawa, Ontario
^Agreed. It's a much better idea to go the used route. Fall is a buyer's market, and if you're patient you should be able to find something that's well built with decent components and will last you years (none of those things apply to the Denali)
2015-10-04 7:37 PM
in reply to: #5144654

I agree with ^. However, I'd add that, in my opinion, any road bike is better than no road bike. So, if the GMC is all you can/want to spend then go for it! As you get deeper into the sport, assuming you continue to enjoy it, you'll find ways to save money for a better set up and then the GMC can become your foul weather rider.

What's your budget? Maybe I/we can help point you in another direction.?.