General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Helmet? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-10-12 10:35 AM

Subject: New Helmet?
As I'm a true beginner Tri-athlete, I had competed in my first Tri with a mountain bike and my mountain bike helmet. It does its suited purpose, but now looking for more of a road / racing helmet. Especially because I now have an updated road bike.

I cam across the Bontrager Balista helmet that has had really awesome reviews and thinking that might be the best for ventilation and aerodynamics, but also considering other options like the Rudy Project Wingspan57

I've heard that an ultra aero helmet will typically only gain you about 1 minute over 40km but be very hot / uncomfortable, so at my level comfort would outweigh aero, but obviously I want safety, comfort, aero. Probably in that order although for Tri's Aero would be higher on the list and most helmets have to meet minimum safety standards.

Suggestions on other helmets? I think Giro makes some nice ones as well, but recent reviews were hit and miss.

helmets with sun guards or not? I like the idea of having my own sun glasses vs a shield..

2015-10-12 11:38 AM
in reply to: kctkd

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: New Helmet?
I just bought a Giro Advantage 2... It's generally regarded as the best all-arounder as far as price, ventilation, and aero performance on most body and head shapes. For a beginner or anyone on a road bike I'd say go for an Aero Road helmet. Most companies make them now and are a decent compromise between aero and ventilation. Everyone has their own opinion and there are even conflicting wind tunnel tests for the aero road helmets, so I'd say just go with the best deal and the one that fits the best.
New Thread
General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Helmet? Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

Anyone tried the new Specialized Evade helmets?

Started by Mike_D
Views: 1747 Posts: 4

2013-09-19 10:56 AM cxk9758

time for a new helmet