General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Dover, DE checking in. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-10-19 3:20 PM

Subject: Dover, DE checking in.
Hello, my name is Katelyn and I'm relatively new to this. I've done a few sprint triathlons and have always loved them. I'm more of a runner than anything and have also done a couple half marathons, but I'm looking to really push myself toward something greater. I'm about 30 lbs overweight at the moment and am in the middle of my weight loss (almost 20 down at this point). I'm in better shape now than I've ever been, despite having been about 10 lbs lighter than I am currently about 1.5 years ago. As of right now my exercise plan involves the obvious swim/bike/run with weights thrown in. I find lunges and squats have greatly improved my endurance and speed.

I signed up for Eagleman (MD 70.3 Ironman) in 2016. I've got a training plan, I'm very motivated and although my 30 week "plan" doesn't start for about a month, I've been working pretty hard to increase my fitness level and to lose weight. The bike is me weakest link, and I'm in the market for a TT bike soon. My previous triathlons and duathlons were all done on a mountain bike. Needless to say, it was discouraging how much that slowed me down. I have never ridden any other type of bike and I have a lot to learn. I love to run and swim (although my swim technique leaves much to be desired). I've been a runner for quite some time (on and off since high school, I'm 30 years old now) and I've received some swim training through my career (first responder, but the academy was years ago).