General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming.. tell me it gets easier! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-10-31 11:33 AM

Subject: Swimming.. tell me it gets easier!
Hey all.

I've signed up to my first ever triathlon on the 1st of January. I'm a regular runner and cyclist and am generally quite fit overall, so I thought I'd be fine doing the short swim despite not having swam properly since primary school! Its only 400m, in a pool... I'm confident at this distance in breaststroke but I'm determined to be able to do it all front crawl except I'm finding front crawl exhausting!

My current routine is 100m breaststroke, 200m front crawl, 100 breast, 200 front, 100 breast.. with lots of breathing breaks! I'm a student and am too skint to sign up for lessons at the moment, though i've been studying YouTube videos on technique and form. Am I right to just keep going with this? Has anyone got any words of wisdom? I'm swimming 3x a week and I'm determined to nail this over the next 2 months!

Thanks!
Jen

2015-10-31 3:54 PM
in reply to: #5150015

Subject: RE: Swimming.. tell me it gets easier!
Hi ..it gets easier! I used to need CPR after 1 length! You can already do 200m x2 in one session so your doing really well. Increase by 25s each week! the more you swim the easier it is! I used to be really breathless in part because I was king ing my legs frantically which is using really big muscles which will tire you quickly. I was also trying to go to fast so slowing down a bit was better. Keep going you can definately do it and by the way you will see althletic looking men and women who do the whole swim in breastroke.
2015-10-31 5:12 PM
in reply to: jennrtri

Words of wisdom, hardly.

I have no idea about your current level. However, if you are starting, you may be doing the same mistake multiple beginners do, taking huge breaths out of fear of lacking air.

I'll give you two advice I give my friends who start swimming:
1-breathe normally.