General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Repeatable Week Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-11-18 11:31 AM

Brisbane, Australia
Subject: Repeatable Week
Hi All,

Im trying to improve my work-training life balance to be able to spend plenty of time with the family but still be able to maintain a level of fitness that will allow me to comfortably compete in sprints and olys at very short notice and still be able to punch out a respectable HIM with a dedicated 10 week or so build. My background is that I have a 7 and 5 year old and I leave for work at 05:30am every morning so there is no opportunity for morning training (plus I hate mornings!). However, I'm home from work at 2:30pm so there is no problem punching out a 1-1.5hr session and then be able to spend the rest of the afternoon/evening with my wife and kids now that I'm not working stupidly long hours anymore. I can train longer on the weekends but still don't want to be out training all day to the detriment of my family and fun time. I've competed in triathlons on and off for over 15 years so I've got a fair bit of experience, I'm consistent across all three legs but I'm not trying to win my AG or qualify for world champs etc, just keep fit and keep trying to better my times (PB: 4:42 HIM).

Sorry for the long intro, but my question is;
Will the following repeatable week be acceptable to achieve the desired level of fitness that I've described and enable me to peak for any HIM with a dedicated 8-10 week build? I'm thinking something like this;

Monday: Run 1-1:15hrs (approx 12-15km). Include some intervals of 3-5mins @ 10km pace (4:10-4:15mjn/km for me)

Tuesday: Swim Squad 1hr (approx 3-3.5km). Tough set with lots of varied intervals.

Wednesday: Ride 2hrs (approx 60km). Includes varied intervals from 5-20mins over varied terrain.

Thursday: Strength Session in the gym 1hr. Circuit type using kettlebells and free weights with high reps and min rest.