General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Let's be real... Could I pull this off? Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-12-28 5:22 PM

Subject: Let's be real... Could I pull this off?
It's been awhile since I've been on the site, a lot has changed (and not just my waistline!

I was racing actively (3-5 triathlons per year at the Sprint and Olympic distances, with a few mud runs, and 5-10K's thrown in) 4 years ago and happier than I had ever been! I was training for my first Ironman with a small group of friends in the area, and coming along nicely. I was running 35-45 miles per week, biking 150-175 miles per week, and I wasn't logging my swims very well but I could already swim the over 3 miles in plenty of time to make the cutoff. Things were going great!

To keep a long story short, when I graduated from college I got buried in work and starting my own company, and put on quite a bit of weight and stopped working out. I started a new job in January, and my boss is very focused on making sure all of us are healthy and happy, and is making a big push to help us get that way. He started training himself for a 1/2 IM, and asked me if I would be interested in getting back in the game and doing a race with him.

There is no way I can make the first race he is doing because it is a 1/2 IM and it is in March. He has offered to pay my way for a race in June and do it with me if I would be interested. It is also a 1/2, and would be the longest race I've ever done and I would be starting from the worst shape I've ever been in.

Me now:
6ft (this doesn't change, but helps give perspective)
298 lbs
Run - 2 miles at 15 min pace
Bike - Haven't been on one in over 2 years so no clue
Swim - I can swim about 500m non-stop, no clue what the pace is