General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Z2 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-12-28 9:57 PM

Subject: Z2
So the training program I'm following called for 40 minutes of running in Zone 2, which for me is in the neighbourhood of 150 BPM using the Karvonen method.

I did 40 minutes all with a fairly consistent pace, and ended up doing 8.1 km over 40 mins for an average pace of 4:56 per km or thereabouts. But my heart rate averaged 164 (top of Z3/low Z4) over the run and was 170-180 (getting into Z5) for the last 10 minutes, and I did feel pretty winded especially for the last few minutes of it.

I am new to all of this and have no background in any of the three disciplines, and certainly have no experience with HR zone-based training. This was actually my first outdoor run using my new HR monitor. (Got up to -10 C today so had to get out there)

So my question, given that I was supposed to keep it to Z2 but probably was above that for the final 30 minutes of my 40-minute run...I was able to keep the same pace over 40 minutes, do I consider this workout a success? Or did I miss out on the entire point of the workout by spending most of it above the targeted heart rate? (And if so, why?)

Thanks for any help!

2015-12-28 10:21 PM
in reply to: #5158149

User image

Franklin, TN
Subject: RE: Z2
The purpose of zone 2 running is to help you build endurance while allowing you to recover fairly easily. Running a lot above zone 2 will a) increase the likelihood of injury and b) require too much recovery to give produce quality efforts in your subsequent workouts. A tempo effort (like the one you did) should be used sparingly (once, maybe twice a week) once you've built up your volume with a lot of zone 2 running.
2015-12-28 11:18 PM
in reply to: JoelO

Originally posted by JoelO