BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Gray Guys/Girls Master's Focus Triathlon Mentor Group--Now Open Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 29

2016-11-29 10:19 AM
in reply to: #5158550

Subject: RE: Gray Guys/Girls Master's Focus Triathlon Mentor Group--Now Open
Hello, My name Mo (short for Maurice) I'm 51, married for 25 years, grown daughter and son, grandson due in March 2017. I'm a retired firefighter and Army Retired Veteran. Due to PTSD (Iraq War 2004), exercise is a vital part of coping with PTSD. I'm very competitive, but can't play b-ball, football, or baseball anymore (knees and shoulders can't handle those sports anymore). So I have turned to the challenge of sprint triathlons, hoping transitioning to half ironmans in after one to two years of training and losing weight (down from 270). Most of my weight gain is from weight training, a good way to relieve stress. And with anything challenging we all need a good support and encouragement. So I'm excited about connecting.

2016-11-29 11:43 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Raleigh, North Carolina

Hi MO, and welcome to the group.  From your profile, it looks like you've landed in the right group.  You'll find the group here is experienced (age and race related) along with excellent coaching and advice from the mentors.  Ones in the group are active; competed in IM distances this year along with ones like me ... I mainly stick to the sprints .  It's likely a bit early for much chatter within the group as it is the off part of the season.  But as things start to pick up the level of comments and engagement in the group is encouraging. 

You will find that participation in these type events requires patience,realistic expectations, dedication and consistency.  It takes time to build a base for the endurance required to compete and/or finish these type events, especially IM distances.  Again welcome.

Ciao ... Dorm

Edited by Dorm57 2016-11-29 11:49 AM
2016-11-29 3:27 PM