General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New to tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-01-01 9:04 AM

Subject: New to tri
Hi,

I'm 32, female and live in Ontario and I'm new to the world of tri. I used to be a competitive swimmer and after leaving the main club at 18, I joined the Masters club. A lot of the people in that club were triathletes so they were my first real exposure to that world. I was curious about it but I hated running at the time so decided it wasn't for me.

To make a long story short, I run now but was starting to find the training a little dull. The idea of being a triathlete instead appealed because of the variety in the sports. I've been a member on here for a few years now but don't believe I've ever posted, mostly because this was a nice idea rather than something I was going to do.... until now! My 2015 challenge I set myself was to run a half-marathon, which I did in Niagara Falls. My 2016 challenge is to do my first triathlon. I'm aiming for the K-Town triathlon, probably the long distance tri. I'm also planning on doing the Ottawa Early Bird long distance to get some practise on things like transitions and learning how to run on wobbly legs. I guess joining the local triathlon club would be good too. And buying a bike is probably recommended!

I've been training in the gym for perhaps a month already with a custom plan from this site. I didn't think the training was going too well because I was able to meet the distance goals but not in the times given. Honestly, I felt a bit crap about myself and decided to just repeat week 1 over and over until I could do it. I realised recently that the gym equipment (I don't like running outdoors in the snow) was all set to miles so not only was I doing better than I thought, I was doing far more than the training plan wanted! Such a boost to realise that.