General Discussion Triathlon Talk » HIM Spacing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-01-04 4:01 PM

Subject: HIM Spacing
What's a general rule of thumb for number of 70.3's in a season? How much time between two is generally recommended? Currently still race planning: I'm looking at Texas on April 10, Buffalo Springs on June 26, and Timberman on August 21, with Olympics in May and July. Too much?

2016-01-04 4:21 PM
in reply to: Callowam

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Subject: RE: HIM Spacing

How many HIMs have you done in the past?  How do you typically recover?  What are your goals for the races?

2016-01-04 7:45 PM
in reply to: JohnnyKay

Originally posted by JohnnyKay

How many HIMs have you done in the past?  How do you typically recover?  What are your goals for the races?

I'm a rookie - I've done 1 HIM. I recover fairly quickly, although I plan to race considerably more this year. My goals are just to be competitive.
2016-01-04 10:11 PM

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
Originally posted by Callowam

I'm a rookie - I've done 1 HIM. I recover fairly quickly, although I plan to race considerably more this year. My goals are just to be competitive.

I don't think there is a "rule of thumb", it all depends on your background, experience, recovery,e tc.

It sounds like you have 2 months between each one, plus the sprint and/or oly... I'd say be flexible, do the first, see how you feel..try the 2nd, see how you feel, etc.
2016-01-05 12:56 PM
in reply to: AdventureBear

User image

Veteran
Houston, Texas

Originally posted by AdventureBear

I don't think there is a "rule of thumb", it all depends on your background, experience, recovery,e tc. It sounds like you have 2 months between each one, plus the sprint and/or oly... I'd say be flexible, do the first, see how you feel..try the 2nd, see how you feel, etc.