General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Half Ironman in April 9 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-01-05 5:45 PM

Subject: Half Ironman in April 9
Hi All,

I have been signed up for a Half Ironman for a year (Napa HITS) for a significant discount, since completing the Sprint course last year as my first triathlon. I didn't really train very hard and really focused on swimming (As I started learning in January last year) and didn't really work on the bike or run since they were such short distances. I completed that previous year in ~ 1:50, with super slow transitions. Looking back on it I wish I pushed myself a little harder on all 3 legs of the race.

Fast-forward to today. I have been steadily adding workouts (trying to add more biking and running since I have neglected them before) through December and am starting this plan this week: http://mos.triradar.com/Training_Plans/Race_Your_First_703.pdf,utilizing the "time-poor" method with my goal to just finish the race.

I am a little worried about my fitness but I am totally committed to doing this race and completing it. I have completed a Half Marathon in October with a ~ 2:10 finishing time. What do you guys think are realistic goals? And do you think that I would be able to complete this Half Ironman with the plan and timetable that I have, barring no injuries?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I hope this will be a rewarding experience for me!

2016-01-05 6:45 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Master
Kailua, Hawaii
Subject: RE: Half Ironman in April 9
As you probably realize, this is a big jump from your sprint. Sprints leave a lot of room for mistakes, but a HIM, not so much.

Usually the bike is what will cook you, but so can the run.

Definitely want to focus on what the bike and run courses will be like. Bike is 3KFT of gain, and Run is nearly 1KFT. These are not flat courses.

You'll be swimming over a mile as well, which is another thing that needs serious attention.