General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Confused about Heart Rate and LTHR Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-01-19 11:23 AM

User image

Mojave Desert
Subject: Confused about Heart Rate and LTHR
I am getting back into triathlon starting with running. I am using a monitor and 910XT. I am trying to figure out my LTHR, but being an engineer, I may be over-analyzing.

I ran a 5k in December about a month into training. My average heart rate was 171 for the last 20 minutes. My average pace for the entire race was about 9 min/mile (on dirt roads).

Today I did the 30 minute LTHR test. My average HR for the last 20 min was only 161. (My pace was up to 8:20 for the full 30).

Should I use 171 or 161 as my LTHR? Should I average? I'm 5'9, 200 lb (down from 250 in Sept, hoping for 175 eventually). I was at 208 for the race in Dec. Last time I was at 170 lbs. my race pace was 7:20 for a 5k, but I have no idea what the HR was.

For more info, I seem comfortable under 148 I start having trouble talking in sentences at 154. I have been using those as my rough zones 1 and 2. For intervals, etc. I just try to shoot my HR up into the 160s.

I know I need to keep testing every month or so, but how do you know if you ran hard enough?

2016-01-19 1:03 PM
in reply to: ktsdad

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Confused about Heart Rate and LTHR
It sounds like you are doing things right on. What is confusing you is that your 5k pace is actually above LT pace (Or it should be) so naturally your 5k pace and avg. HR during a 5k will be higher than when you do the last 20mins of the LTHR test. I would set my zones based on the results of your test (161) and I would also suggest using something like Trainingpeaks to set the pace zones as well. For running, training by pace as opposed to HR is a whole lot more accurate because so many things can effect HR on a given day (weather, fatigue, caffeine).