General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Last question on HR-I promise! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-01-27 8:30 PM

Subject: Last question on HR-I promise!
Awhile back I posted a question on HR and zones, etc

I took the advice offered to heart (geez an accidental pun) and performed the run fitness test.

The test: I ran for 10 minutes to warm up. At this point I increased the pace significantly and after about a minute, I triggered my HR monitor. I went as hard as I possibly could for 15 minutes. (I know, it was supposed to be 20). After the 15 minutes I stopped the monitor and cooled down. The run was extremely hard, so I feel confident that I gave it all I could. My legs agree.

Results: Average HR 168 Max during session 175. A little more info: I am 57, and my resting HR is usually between 58-60. I have been running and cycling for 3 years.

My question: I assume from reading that it is the 168 that I base my zones on? Also, what about the 175? If I run a race and I am up in that area, does this mean I am running more than my max? I am confused by this.
Also, if I go by the old unreliable 220-age, I get 163. So, does the 168 mean I am in good shape, or not so good? I would welcome any thoughts on interpreting all this data.

Thanks great people!!
Barry

2016-01-28 1:12 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Last question on HR-I promise!
Couple of things.

When I use Friel's method for determining heart rate zones using a 20 minute test ( it sounds like this is what you were doing ) the protocol is to treat the *entire* 30 minutes as if it's a race, so using the first 10 minutes to warm up, and only speeding up a minute before hitting the beginning of the 20 minute period would be incorrect.

An Excerpt from Joe Friel's blog: