General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Red Eagle Wheels Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-02-05 9:27 PM

User image

, Jawa Barat
Subject: Red Eagle Wheels
Hi,

I am a poor teacher in a rich man's sport and I am trying to get some carbon wheels. On Ebay I have found some off-brand wheels by Red Eagle. Does anyone know anything about them? I know that they are not going to be near the quality of Zipp or other name brands, but I want to upgrade my wheels and can't pay more than 350 for wheels. Teachers are not exactly highly paid people. Here is a link of the wheels. Any help is appreciated.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1470g-only-88mm-Tubular-carbon-bicycle-road...

Thanks

2016-02-06 8:35 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Durham, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Red Eagle Wheels
I have no experience with those wheels personally. I know there are a lot of reviews for ebay wheels on some other forums with popular sellers mentioned. Might be the weight weenies site, but I can't remember. I would check that out first. The prices should be similar.

EDIT: Don't forget to check shipping prices. Some might be $450 but free shipping. You can get a used pair of zipp 606 tubular's on facebooks "online swap meet" for sub 1k. Huge price difference, but I'm just letting you know. I've seen a bunch of tubular wheel sets on there going from 600-900.

Edited by Lupy 2016-02-06 8:38 AM
2016-02-06 11:09 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Chicago, USA
Originally posted by JoshuaBlackburn

I am a poor teacher in a rich man's sport and I am trying to get some carbon wheels. On Ebay I have found some off-brand wheels by Red Eagle. Does anyone know anything about them? I know that they are not going to be near the quality of Zipp or other name brands, but I want to upgrade my wheels and can't pay more than 350 for wheels. Teachers are not exactly highly paid people. Here is a link of the wheels. Any help is appreciated.

A few things: