General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Aerobars and road bikes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-03-17 8:52 AM

Subject: Aerobars and road bikes
I'm new to triathlon. I ran my first tri last year, Cedar Point Challenge 70.3. I had a great time, and I am looking to do more this year. I'm planning on doing a couple of sprints and an Olympic, at least, this season and IM Chattanooga in 2017.

I have a roadbike that I enjoy riding. I don't have any near future plans to purchase a tri bike.

Is there a benefit to mounting aero bars on a road bike?

Thanks.

Dave

2016-03-17 11:59 AM
in reply to: Georgerd

User image

Champion
Tacoma, Washington
Subject: RE: Aerobars and road bikes

Aerodynamically, yes, there is huge benefit to be had. However I'll caution you about altering your saddle position on the road bike radically to try to optimize the position to that of a tri bike -- the handling can go south quickly.

2016-03-17 12:39 PM
in reply to: briderdt

Thanks!
2016-03-17 12:44 PM
in reply to: Georgerd

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS
Originally posted by Georgerd

I'm new to triathlon. I ran my first tri last year, Cedar Point Challenge 70.3. I had a great time, and I am looking to do more this year. I'm planning on doing a couple of sprints and an Olympic, at least, this season and IM Chattanooga in 2017.

I have a roadbike that I enjoy riding. I don't have any near future plans to purchase a tri bike.

Thanks.

Dave

Yes there is a benefit. An even bigger benefit if you get fit along with it. It's a compromise when doing this on a road bike.

I did this a few years back but I not only got aerobars I got a new seatpost (Fast Forward) and a new stem. This is because I got a Retul fit and didn't have the $$ for the Tri bike. I did well on the roadie, over 21 mph average on 70.3 bike split and over 23 mph in olympic races.