General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IT Band Issues Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-04-07 5:53 PM

Subject: IT Band Issues
Hey all, so I have my first race coming up next weekend (sprint) and unfortunately I have been battling IT band issues in both knees for a couple months now, so I have not been able to run and bike as much as I would like. Been seeing a sports chiro to help with the issues and they are slowly getting better. My plan is to just grit it out, but was wondering if any of you have dealt with IT band issues going into races and during training and if you have done anything in particular to help alleviate the systems, particularly on race day. Right now I am stretching and foam rolling every night and doing some of the PT exercises I was given (banded monster walks and glute bridges).

I'll be honest I was a bit shocked this came up because I have never had this problem and it started at the end of January when I went out for a run. Got to about 2.5 miles and my left knee was just killing. Was getting treatment for that and then about three weeks ago I did a brick and during the run my left knee was feeling tight as it had been, but then around a mile my right knee just killed (although it eventually subsided). Now its primarily my right knee that has been bad. Really not enjoying this hahaha.

2016-04-07 8:22 PM
in reply to: cdoug55

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: IT Band Issues

You MUST do the exercises to build up your weak glutes.  Foam rolling, ice, manipulation, massage, etc. helps with the pain.....but the ONLY way to get rid of this problem is to do the exercises.  There is no quick fix.

2016-04-08 6:26 PM
in reply to: Left Brain

User image

Master
Los Angeles, CA
Originally posted by Left Brain

You MUST do the exercises to build up your weak glutes.  Foam rolling, ice, manipulation, massage, etc. helps with the pain.....but the ONLY way to get rid of this problem is to do the exercises.  There is no quick fix.