General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Optical Heart Rate Monitors Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-04-29 9:42 AM

User image

DC
Subject: Optical Heart Rate Monitors
Read that some of Garmin's OHRMs are pretty accurate during running but not great during, e.g., biking. (DC Rainmaker).

Would love to hear your opinions (pros/cons) as I debate replacing my "Vivoactive" w/the "Vivoactive HR."

P.S. I'm not getting any younger so HR-training's a must.

2016-04-29 11:33 AM
in reply to: Porfirio

User image

Expert
The Woodlands, TX
Subject: RE: Optical Heart Rate Monitors

I have a tomtom and it works great, except after long exposure in the cold, as my veins get small/frozen on my wrist and hard to read I guess. . That's the only time I've seen it not accurate.

2016-04-29 11:36 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

I have been using a Scosche Rhythm for about 4 months now and have not had any issues, been quite accurate riding and running, but it's not a watch based mount, it's an arm band.

Edited by ChrisM 2016-04-29 11:37 AM
2016-04-29 11:55 AM
in reply to: tjfry

User image

DC
Originally posted by tjfry

I have a tomtom and it works great, except after long exposure in the cold, as my veins get small/frozen on my wrist and hard to read I guess. . That's the only time I've seen it not accurate.

How do you know it's accurate?
2016-04-29 1:11 PM

User image

Katy, Texas
I've got the vivoactive HR. It's not great but serves it's purpose for what I bought it for, which was to not have to wear the chest strap all the time.

My issues with it are it will just randomly decide my HR is 80 or 170 or 150 for a couple of minutes when I know it's not. I try fiddling around with it's position on my wrist and sometimes that fixes it and sometimes it doesn't. Usually it's back to reading correctly a couple of minutes later. This happens more on the bike than the run, not sure why. Maybe has to do with gripping something with your hand, not sure.