General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Beginner Tri Outfit Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-09 5:01 PM

Subject: Beginner Tri Outfit
Beginner here, looking for a good entry level 2 piece tri suit. Mostly compete in the south so will probably wear it without a wetsuit, and having some trouble finding anything in my local shops on sale. I'm about 6'4" so finding something that fits is always a struggle. Being new I have bought a bike and a lot of other expensive gear on the front end and trying to save money here. Any advice or wisdom from more experienced riders will be a great help.

Josh

2016-05-10 12:51 PM
in reply to: Jbaxter3

User image

, North Carolina
Subject: RE: Beginner Tri Outfit
I'm partial to the 2 piece as well. Check out trisports.com! They always have good stuff and in my experience they have always had size charts that are spot on.

I have had good experiances from Zoot and Louis Garneau. Both of them tend to have multiple price points for their clothes with increasing quality and features, but even the lower end ones are still great products. I started out the a low end pair of zoot shorts and just wore a bike jersey for my top.

Here are their newest sets. The "active" line is the lower end shorts http://www.trisports.com/zoot-mens-active-8-inch-tri-short-2016.htm... and top http://www.trisports.com/zoot-mens-active-tri-mesh-tank-2106.html

I'm actually looking at these myself!
2016-05-10 3:26 PM
in reply to: triathlonpal07

Try Sierra Trading Post. They always have deals and also discount codes can be found all over the internet. I am on a very tight budget as well (pretty much been hooked up by friends with all my gear and my bike is on loan right now haha) so I went there and bought pearl izumi tri shorts and top for pretty cheap. Im no expert, but they seem like decent quality for now.
2016-05-11 10:29 PM
in reply to: Jbaxter3

User image

Veteran
Great White North
Onesie is better for a no wetsuit swim...
New Thread