General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New gay guy Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-10 5:33 AM

Subject: New gay guy
Hi. Im 43, gay in Florida. I've talked about doing a triathalon and finally have decided to make it happen. I haven't competed in one yet. I'm new to joining and posting on a site, so this is new and weird to me. I used to be an athlete and in pretty good shape. After I stopped, I gained a lot of weight and trying to get back to healthy. 5'8", 212 lbs. Would be cool to have a buddy to talk to, who's going through or has gone through same thing. Can use all the help and advise I can get. Well, just wanted to introduce myself. Hope to chat

2016-05-10 9:20 AM
in reply to: csjorgec

User image

Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: New gay guy

Well, I'm far from meeting your criteria as a workout buddy, seeing as I'm female and in another state, but welcome!  What sort of sports or activities were you involved in previously?  

If it is something that might interest you, there are a few weight-loss groups on here that offer good peer support and motivation.

2016-05-10 9:37 AM
in reply to: #5181005

I was a gymnast, for the most part. Also played other sports along the way. I appreciate the advice.
2016-05-10 12:27 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pennsylvania

I should have also mentioned that there are mentor groups on the site as well that are generally a good resource for learning more about the sport, asking questions, and making some new acquaintances/friends near and far.  I think some are still open - check out 'Other Resources', then '2016 Beginner Triathlete Mentor Program', then look through the list for any groups that have 'Open' listed after the thread name.  I saw the weight-loss one I was speaking of earlier: '2016 Clyde/Athena Tri-N-4-Weight Loss Mentor Group ' is open if you are interested.

Edited by melbo55 2016-05-10 12:28 PM
2016-05-10 2:53 PM
in reply to: #5181005