General Discussion Triathlon Talk » How many mass swim starts did it take? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-10 11:05 AM

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
Subject: How many mass swim starts did it take?
Just curious if they bother you in any way (mass starts). If not, did they ever make you anxious? If so, does it ever (completely) go away?

I sort of hope it doesn't completely go away. I've done 3 since 4/16. The first one, I got right in the middle of it. Freaked out about 100 M in.....but never broke stride/stopped. Just sort of got overwhelmed with all the contact. Second one went fine (though I admit to letting the pack have a few seconds head-start). Last one went fine......same scenario as the second.

Problem is....in my head, I'm giving seconds away to people I probably shouldn't. I pass a lot of people, laying back at the start. I'll get back in the mix if people who've been there tell me it gets "better".

AOS, here. I'm new to mass starts and new to feeling confident I'll make all my swim distances (OWS's so far have been 500 M, 1,500 M and 1.2 Mi.). I just don't want to give up time, unnecessarily. And, I don't want to get in faster swimmers' way.

2016-05-10 11:15 AM
in reply to: nc452010

User image

Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: How many mass swim starts did it take?
Originally posted by nc452010

Just curious if they bother you in any way (mass starts). If not, did they ever make you anxious? If so, does it ever (completely) go away?

I sort of hope it doesn't completely go away. I've done 3 since 4/16. The first one, I got right in the middle of it. Freaked out about 100 M in.....but never broke stride/stopped. Just sort of got overwhelmed with all the contact. Second one went fine (though I admit to letting the pack have a few seconds head-start). Last one went fine......same scenario as the second.