Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-14 10:34 PM

User image

Master
San Diego, CA
Subject: First Timer....
Hello to all of you!

This is my 1st post on this site.

I'm a beginner to triathalons - plan to do a sprint triathalon in May in Tempe AZ with 3 other newbies.

I'm almost 40, have been active in sports most of my life, 6'2" 245 and have several scars on knees/ankle/feet from various orthopedic "adventures".

Having said that, I'm really psyched about all of this.

I'm 2 weeks into my training schedule. I'm trying to restrain myself and not overdo it at first. I trained 3 days each of the 1st two weeks. I's say that was pretty restrained....

One area that I am having trouble getting a handle on is nutrition. I'm hoping to get some good input in that area from some of you.

Talk to you soon,

Dan

2003-12-15 8:17 AM
in reply to: #2513

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
Subject: RE: First Timer....
Welcome Dan! Yes, be sure to slowly increase your training. A good rule of thumb is to increase 10% a week. As far as nutrition, there are many different options. I personally follow the Body For Life nutrition and have really transformed myself with it. In general, try to eat 5-6 smaller meals a day.
2003-12-15 9:21 PM

User image

Central Louisiana
Great start and remember that we are all here to help each other out, so if you have a question just fire away!

Still Tri'n,
Michael
2003-12-16 2:19 PM

User image

Veteran
SF East Bay
Hello Dan,

Welcome aboard! You have joined a very positive group of fitness minded people. I have also recently joined and love it already.