General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training Zones Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-20 7:26 PM

Subject: Training Zones
I'm still new to endurance training, only 9 months of swim/bike/run. I have a question about the training zones that are tracked with my Garmin 910XT. I had my long run today, 45 minutes, I was able to complete 4.5m at an average pace of 11:24/mile. For me, that was a positive workout, because I'm not dead right after and based on other runs of similar distance/time I feel MUCH better so I know that my endurance has improved. Now that I loaded my workout, I see that my average HR was 157bpm and my max was 170bpm. According to the standard 220 - age, my max HR should be 191bpm. Now according to the Garmin app I was within the 3 to 4 zone the entire run, but my "training effect" according to my app was a "5 - Overreaching".That sounds negative, but I can't help but feel like this workout was very beneficial.

So how much attention should I pay to the "training effect" the app shows, compared to my HR throughout the run, my pace, or more importantly how I felt during and after my run? Or am I missing other indicators I should be watching more closely?

Thanks for any advice.

2016-05-21 12:54 PM
in reply to: manimal

, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: Training Zones
The most important thing is that you are improving and making gains! I started getting into using HR about two years ago and though I’ve learned a ton, I keep learning a lot more every day.
That 220 – age calc can be off by quite a bit. For example, I’m 61yrs, and my max should be 159. Well I’ve seen peaks at 180 and most of my sprint and 5K racing is avg something in the 165-170 range. You’re a lot younger, so 191 is probably closer to accurate but could still be off.