General Discussion Triathlon Talk » NEW ATHLETE-gear Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-24 11:30 AM

Subject: NEW ATHLETE-gear
I have decided to train for a triathlon! I've been training some with my boyfriend (who is very experienced (i.e. Iron man, competes at nationals, travels to do dif tris-very strong dude)and what not). I am a girl and I am looking for some bike shorts (or should I save the hassle and get a tri suit?), but nothing super expensive because I am new to this- trying to try it out- and I don't have a good bike or anything. Anything helps!

2016-05-24 12:10 PM
in reply to: Emilykm11

Subject: RE: NEW ATHLETE-gear
Originally posted by Emilykm11

I have decided to train for a triathlon! I've been training some with my boyfriend (who is very experienced (i.e. Iron man, competes at nationals, travels to do dif tris-very strong dude)and what not). I am a girl and I am looking for some bike shorts (or should I save the hassle and get a tri suit?), but nothing super expensive because I am new to this- trying to try it out- and I don't have a good bike or anything. Anything helps!

You are going to probably want a tri suit for the race itself, but for training I would get a separate pair of bike shorts it will just help with longer rides. I found some great deals on Sierra Trading Post when I bought my tri suit this past winter. They are always running sales and free shipping, but if you also google you can find discount codes.
2016-05-24 11:09 PM
in reply to: cdoug55

Originally posted by cdoug55

Originally posted by Emilykm11

You are going to probably want a tri suit for the race itself, but for training I would get a separate pair of bike shorts it will just help with longer rides. I found some great deals on Sierra Trading Post when I bought my tri suit this past winter. They are always running sales and free shipping, but if you also google you can find discount codes.