General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie Gel/Pre-Workout Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-26 10:45 AM

Subject: Newbie Gel/Pre-Workout Question
Most of my workouts take place in the morning before the wife and kid are up and most of the time I will eat something small before them because that is just what I am used to; however, once in a while I need to do some training at night (sometimes middle of the evening and sometimes late evening like 9pm). My issue is I typically eat lunch around 1pm, but because of my hours at work I don't usually eat dinner until late which means after my workout. So that could mean really late if my workout isn't until 9 pm. I'll have some small snacks throughout the day, but nothing substantial. So I was wondering if any of you eat anything in particular before a workout if you are in a similar situation? Would you resort to things like gels? Since I am new to endurance sports I haven't really ventured into the world of gels and what not. So today I have a track workout scheduled with a fair amount of sprints and my guess is I won't get to the track until about 7/7:30, so I don't want to feel too low energy when I get there.

Thanks in advance for the help.

2016-05-26 10:51 AM
in reply to: cdoug55

User image

Master
Falls Church, Virginia
Subject: RE: Newbie Gel/Pre-Workout Question
I'm sure others will chime in, but if I have an evening workout I usually go for a banana. They sit well on my stomach no matter what, and are cheap.
2016-05-26 12:32 PM

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
I went for a 27.1 mi training ride with my tri group last night (before dinner). About an hour before the ride, I had a PB and banana sandwich.

I eat either a single pop tart or a honey stinger waffle before I swim in the mornings.

I don't do workouts on an empty stomach.
2016-05-26 1:11 PM