General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Getting back on the horse Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-27 10:30 PM

Subject: Getting back on the horse
I've been doing triathlons for 11 years. I've done 10 im and 24 half im. Two years ago this weekend I was hit by a drunk driver on a training ride. Broke my shoulder and some other stuff but came back and did a half and full. The full was exactly one year ago. But since then I can not seem to get back into training. It's been a year and still don't feel like doing anything - and I'm not. I've gained 25 pounds and feel like crap. I can't be the only person that used to live the tri life - loved it and now can't get the mojo. Thoughts?

2016-05-28 3:44 AM
in reply to: #5184350

User image

Subject: RE: Getting back on the horse
Very sorry to hear about your accident. I unfortunately lost 4 friends by way of drunk drivers almost 20 years ago, and it still haunts me to this day.

I loose focus fairly often during long training blocks and fall off the wagon with my diet, and life simply gets on the way of training. Wife and 3 kids under 7 can get busy.

If I were you, I would first retool your diet and try to get your weight back in check. This would be the easiest way to get back to a healthy lifestyle. Second, don't focus on your next IM or HIM... As crazy at it sounds, sign up and actually PAY for a 5k or 10k race. Remind yourself what you love about competition. Set a goal time (perhaps a realistic one) and just get back into the habit of running 1-2 days per week. I think as endurance athletes, we have a tendency to want to always set out for a PR at the longer distances, and that takes so much training, and frankly, your mind and body just are not there yet. I have no doubt you can get back there (if you want to), but you have to a realist and put in the training time to do so.

Anyway, good luck to you and I hope this is a little bit helpful.
2016-05-28 7:47 AM
in reply to: #5184357

User image