General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Is there a 70.3 race that also has a seperate marathon? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-05-28 8:04 AM

Subject: Is there a 70.3 race that also has a seperate marathon?
Hi Everyone,
First time on here. My girlfriend runs half and full marathons, and I'm just getting into Triathlons. I was wondering if anyone knew of a race that would have a 70.3 the same weekend as a marathon so that we could both take advantage of a vacation. Any ideas or suggestions would help. We're not limited to any area as long as it is in the US.
Thanks!
Nick

2016-05-28 8:30 AM
in reply to: npopa13

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Is there a 70.3 race that also has a seperate marathon?
There are quite a few places in the Pacific Northwest that have something like "endurance weekends" or "endurance festivals" with tris and run races of different distances over a weekend during the summer. I know there is one (Pacific Crest) in Oregon in late June. It's in the Sunriver resort area near Bend and Sisters. Sure that they have the following: 10K, half-marathon, marathon, Olympic distance du (bike is 29 miles, though) and tri, HIM du and tri. One caveat--Pac Crest is at altitude (goes up to about 6000 feet on the bike and back down; the swim, run and about half of the bike are at about 4000 feet), so you can expect cold water (50's, low 60's max) on the swim and possibly unstable weather at that time of year. The year I did it, I had signed up for the HIM (my first!) but ended up switching to the du due to very cold water and air temps (triggered asthma for me); bike course was also cut to 29 miles due to snow at the higher elevations. I didn't find the elevation affected my run--it was actually one of my best HIM splits, probably as I didn't swim and biked only half as much as standard! It did hail at one point on the run and temps went from 50 to 70...in an hour and 43 minutes, somehow. That was interesting.