General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New guy that lives NYC. Failed at my first trialthon but will try again. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-06-05 10:21 PM

Subject: New guy that lives NYC. Failed at my first trialthon but will try again.
Hi,

I'm 39 years old and very new to triathlon. So new I'm just learning as I'm going. A little back ground about me. I ran cross country in High School and I did run the NYC marathon. I did half marathons. I did trail runs so the running part I got but the biking and swimming is very new to me. I signed up for my first triathlon a month ago and I thought I trained hard.

I would swim an average about 1000 yards in the pool one day and the next day bike 12-15 miles follow by 3 miles run. So I figure I was doing good training for a sprint event as a beginner.

But I failed miserably during the open swim portion. I think I'm the only person that quit out of 200 so people. It was open water 750 meter swims. I didn't realize how different it was going from pool swimming to open water swimming is like learning how to swim all over again. I almost drowned and had to quit. I mean I watch stuff on youtube of what to prepare for in open water swim and I tried that in the pool thinking it be enough. Boy was I wrong.

Don't like that feeling so decided to try again but this time add open water swimming to my training. The problem is I live I NYC...so to swim in the open water is only during summer season (which is now) when the beaches are open. Planning on trying to swim at Sunken Meadow Park. Don't know if there are better places to swim.

I signed up for another triathlon in month. This time I plan on doing more open water swim just to get the feel of it. I think for me I just panic because of lack of visibility plus with so many people kicking and pushing against you doesn't help either.

2016-06-07 6:38 PM
in reply to: #5185439