Castro Valley Track Club
70F / 21C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 24m 15s
Overall Rank = 105/145
Age Group = M40-44
Age Group Rank = 15/18
Pre-race routine:

Drove up to Oakland the day before the race and visited the Oakland Zoo (Lions and Tigers, oh my!). Enjoyed a delicious pre-race sushi dinner then called it an early evening.
Event warmup:

Woke up early and drove out to the run site fairly early to get registration taken care of. As the start time drew closer I had a gel, stretched my legs, and lined up at the start.
Run
  • 2h 24m 15s
  • 13.1 miles
  • 11m 01s  min/mile
Comments:

I'm still fairly new to trail running so my plan was to run where the terrain was easy and power walk the steep hills.

The first 1.75 miles followed the tree lined lake shore and was a great start to the run before getting to the first hill. Climbing up from the lake for about .5 mile and 250' of elevation to a ridge line where the trail ran through an archway of oak trees. A challenging climb however the scenery made the effort worthwhile. Aside from a few steep spots the descent back down to lake level was smooth.

The second hill made the first one seem easy: 1.75 miles and 600' of elevation! The sun had burned away the morning clouds so the temperature was rising and the shade was spotty. Once at the top, the view was great! I paused at the aid station to eat my second gel then began the descent.

Heading down from the second hill was a loop in the trail that went about halfway down the hill then back up to the aid station at the top. Here the trail left the fire road and became single-track for the most part. The return uphill portion wound through a eucalyptus grove so it was nice and shady. At the aid station I refilled my water bottle and started the long descent down to the lake.