General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hi I'm new Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-06-30 9:17 PM

Subject: Hi I'm new
Hey everyone. I'm new to this physical activity business, but I'm trying to get in shape. I impulse signed up for a triathlon near me in the beginning of August. It is a 500m swim, 24 mile bike ride, and 10k run. I have been running for a few months now, although I'm not entirely sure I will be able to run the 10k without walking. I haven't swam or ridden a bike in at least 10 years, I don't even own a bicycle, I'll have to borrow one from a friend, but I'm excited!

2016-06-30 9:29 PM
in reply to: #5189201

Subject: RE: Hi I'm new
Good luck. No shame in walking. Just get to the finish line and plan & prepare for your next race.

The swim and bike will be most challenging without preparation. Should be quite an adventure.
2016-06-30 9:43 PM
in reply to: iTriJake

yeah, it will be difficult for sure. I will start training for it now, but I really only have a month. I rode the stationary bike at my gym today and did 15 miles in 37 minutes. I'm not sure how closely that correlates to my real-world performance, but i'll find out when I can hop on a borrowed bike and try for real.

As for the swimming, well I've got to find a pool near me that does lap swimming at a time that fits my work schedule.

Thanks for the support.
2016-07-01 8:08 AM
in reply to: flabbyinmt

User image

Aledo, Texas

Welcome, and congrats on taking your first steps to a new lifestyle!

You definitely should begin to prepare for all three aspects of the race, but one of the biggest mistakes folks make is doing too much too fast. Add a little bit more each week (some say 10% more at the most). Your race will be an adventure that is much more about the experience and finishing than anything else. You don't want to get injured beforehand, so take it slow in your training.