General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First tri bike - good value? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-17 8:16 AM

Subject: First tri bike - good value?
Hi!

I'm looking to buy my first triathlon bike later this year when the 2016 models go on sale. Thought I'd post here to see if I'm on the right track in my search for a good value entry level / intermediate bike.

Short info:
I'm pretty new to bike racing, having bought my first racing bike (Giant TCR Advanced 1 2015) last fall. Initially wanted to just do a lot of solo riding to compensate for a period of not being able to run due to a knee injury, but now it seems I've been bitten by the racing/tri bug and am looking to do a HIM this year and an IM next year.

Anyway, after doing a lot of internet research and talking to some friends who have done IM's I've narrowed my search down to these bikes:

Cervélo P2
BMC TM02
Felt IA16
Giant Trinity Advanced

The bikes are all pretty much in the same price range ~$3000. The Giant is slightly cheaper, but I'm a little reluctant to pounce on it because I haven't been able to find any reviews of the new models.

So basically, am I in the ballpark of getting a solid bike with either of these bikes or have I missed something? Does any of these stand out as the better bike in regards to overall build quality and speed?

I realize fit is a huge factor, so I'll be sure to test the models at a store to see if they will fit me (I think I have a relatively short upper body compared to my height, which will probably factor into my decision in the end).

Thanks!

2016-07-17 8:28 AM
in reply to: #5191175

Subject: RE: First tri bike - good value?