General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Run cadence and heart rate question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-09-06 7:37 PM

Ottawa
Subject: Run cadence and heart rate question
I am new to training for tris and only recently started running again after many years away from the sport. Despite doing some walk/run intervals I have had a cramping sensation in the front of my shins. I did some research and this is not shin splints. So, I have been taking it slow and waiting for my legs to get used to the pounding and adapt before pushing much harder.

Over the past week I have been reading other forum posts about the benefits of proper cadence and so today I did a run maintaining a 90+ cadence throughout. I still had to do some run/walk intervals, but my legs didn't hurt. It was great. The quicker, shorter strides definitely made a difference.

BUT, my heartrate soared at the quicker cadence. I still haven't been tested to discover my max HR while running, but it was up around 180 which I am sure will be way too high.

Will my heart rate start to drop if I continue training at this cadence?

Thanks for your input.

2006-09-06 11:11 PM
in reply to: #532802

User image

Pro
Virginia Beach, VA
Subject: RE: Run cadence and heart rate question