General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim tracker question for Tethered Swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-24 11:22 AM

Subject: Swim tracker question for Tethered Swimming
Hello.

I am new to getting into swimming. I have a pool in my backyard which is shaped as a kidney. It's not suited for lap swimming. I bought a stationary swim tether and plan to use it as my primary way of swimming. Does any decent swim tracker exist that's not based on laps? Can I successfully track any swim metrics so I know if I am getting better with any tracker? Can someone make a recommendation?

2016-07-24 6:20 PM
in reply to: dnewman84

User image

Extreme Veteran
Langley, BC, 'Wet Coast' Canada
Subject: RE: Swim tracker question for Tethered Swimming
Other than distance and time, I wonder what else you would be able to track. Some folks want to track how many strokes they take to cover a fixed distance, and use this metric, but as you are not really moving this would not be able to be measured in your case.

So, really all you can do is track heart-rate, and that is very difficult/impossible to do reliably in the water, as far as I am aware ...

My suggestion would be to track time and use RPE or Rate of Perceived Effort (Exertion) .
In other words, perhaps swim repetitions in your pool, as you would in a reg pool or lake, but based on time rather than distance. An example might be 10 x 1 min strong with 15 sec recovery, if you are normally capable of swimming at around 2 min per 100 yds etc. This would sorta be equivalent to swimming repeats of 50 metres....

I will let the 'fish' here on BT offer suggestions for swim plans, and opinions on whether your plan to use a tether is suitably efficient.... I will offer you the best of luck in your new pursuit!

2016-07-24 10:10 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
Originally posted by dnewman84

Hello.