General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swimming mystery Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2016-07-25 10:10 AM

nashville, Tennessee
Subject: swimming mystery
Swimming just boggles my mind. I've been racing for 5 years and still suck at swimming. I have studied technique, watched videos, and try to implement the right technique. AND STILL, I get exhausted swimming. I'm front of pack on bike and run, and bottom of pack on swim. So when I take a long time off from swimming, I can get in and swim about 100 yds before I am gasping for air and arms are burning. I can build up but its extremely hard for me to build up to the point that I can swim 500 yds continuous using just freestyle. EVERY SINGLE other person that I know that has started triathlons as a beginner, can quickly get to the point that they can swim 1000's of yards continuous freestyle. Not fast, but nonstop. This may take them a month to get to that point. The point of my thread is that I have a friend, with no competitive swim background, who races with me but doesn't train hard. He doesn't have to train at all for the swim. He swam the other day for the first time in several months, and did 1500 meters at 1:24/100 pace. And he said he went nice and easy. HOW THE HECK IS THIS POSSIBLE. When I'm in my best swim shape, if I swim as fast as I possibly can for 100yds, I can only go about 1:30. But here's the thing that kills me. The way our bodies float in the water. I have compared myself to him and a couple others. He can stretch out his body on top of the water, and he floats from his fingers all the way to his toes. When I stretch out(with full lungs), my legs immediately begin sinking to the bottom, followed by my upper body. Within 20 seconds, my whole body will be laying on the bottom of the pool. We are essentially the same size. 6' 170 lbs. I have skinnier legs and slightly thinner upper body. I watch some swim videos where the person teaching acts like its a given that everyone c