General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » I'm new to triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-27 3:58 PM

User image

Subject: I'm new to triathlon
Hello everyone, I'm Todd from Georgia and I'm new to triathlon.

I have been running off and on for most of my life and completed my first half marathon this past June. At the end of June I purchased my first road bike (with the intention of training for a triathlon) and have been riding 2-3 times per week averaging about 25 miles each ride.

I have registered for a super sprint triathlon on August 20th and I'm nervous - mostly about the swim. I'm very excited about getting into this sport and know I will be fine once I get a little more training under my belt.

I look forward to learning from others here as well.

Todd

2016-07-29 8:54 AM
in reply to: tmiddlebrooks

User image

Master
Falls Church, Virginia
Subject: RE: I'm new to triathlon
Hi Todd, and welcome! It sounds like you are more than prepared to ride and run, and you'll find that lots of triathletes struggle with the swim at first. There have actually been quite a few swimming posts in the Tri Talk section of the forum just in the last few days, so make sure to check those out. Do you know how to swim? Lessons are a great way to build confidence and make sure you're learning the right technique.
2016-07-31 11:05 PM
in reply to: #5192904

User image

Thanks Laura. I'll check out those posts. While I do know how to swim, I've never done any type of competitive swimming so I haven't focused on form.

I've registered for the shortest swim I could find to get started with (300yds), but I'm still nervous about it.
2016-08-05 9:13 AM

User image

Expert
Welcome to the party!