General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » First timer with questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-09 9:37 AM

Subject: First timer with questions
I can honestly say as of 2 days ago, I knew nothing about a triathlon. I've had an urge to try something new, different, and challenging so I figured I'd do some research into a triathlon. It looks like the best fit for me would be a Sprint, especially since this is my first time. I currently don't own a bike, but can go a long time on the stationary (played hockey my whole life and this was part of training). I have never trained in the pool but never had an issue swimming. Running is my weakest of the 3 but something I can put my mind to improving on in the gym.

That's a little of my background. My main question I'm looking for some advise on is...is it too late to try and train for a sprint in late September? It looks like that's when they stop and the latest one is Sept 25th in NJ. This would give me about 6.5 weeks of training. I've been lifting at the gym pretty hard for the past few months so I feel that I'm not starting from scratch here but want to look into accelerated training plan.

Would appreciate suggestions/opinions from others with experience.

2016-08-09 12:54 PM
in reply to: Kidicenj

Subject: RE: First timer with questions
Welcome to the madness.
Errr....addiction....
Errr....whatever you want to call it.

It's tremendous fun.
If you can safely swim a dozen laps in a pool within a 'reasonable' amount of time....which can include stopping and hanging on to the wall a couple times, ride a bike for 45 minutes and run/trot a couple miles....someone with even a casual level of fitness can complete a sprint (with a pool swim). Others can give you some specific advice on what kind of training volume you want for varying degrees of how fast you want to go. I'm a completer.