General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Just signed up for first Triathlon. Few questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-15 8:46 AM

Subject: Just signed up for first Triathlon. Few questions
Hello All

I am new to the Triathlon sport. I decided the sport would be a good way to get my fitness and health moving in the right direction. I'm a big guy (5'11 287 lbs) who is continuing to use the sport to be more active and continue to lose weight. I just signed up for my first Olympic distance triathlon in around 8 weeks or so in early October. My goal will be to finish in under 4.5 hours before they kick me off the course. I have a few questions since I haven't participated in a triathlon before. (some may be silly or seem like common sense but my apology's in advance)

Do I need to buy a race belt? Can you recommend one if so?

I own a road bike (trek domane) How does the water bottle hand off exactly work on the bike? Do I leave some empty bottle cages for my bike and they hand me a bottle during the raid at aid stations? How many water bottles do people carry out of t1?

As I start training longer days and go over the 2 hour mark, I'm finding that I need some sort of nutrition during cycling rides . Can you guys share with me how you use nutrition (bars or gels?). How often do you eat one during training? Does your frequency of eating change during race day?

I currently own road bike shoes. I understand they make triathlon shoes. Do many people use their road bike shoes during a Triathlon or would I be out of place?

I am a pretty big guy (hoping this isn't the case forever) but I see most wet suits are made for people who aren't my proportions. Can someone recommend a good place for a big guy like me to find a wet suit?

How is the cycling course marked so I know where i'm going? Do I need to memorize the course? I currently use my cell phone for gps (I assume I won't be allowed to take my phone with me during the race).

Thanks