General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Shifter Recommendations Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-18 4:03 PM

Subject: Shifter Recommendations
Hello all -

I am prepping for my first triathlon (a sprint) and would like to change my road bike shifters from Shimano Revo to a Shimano STI set. My bike is a 21-speed with a Shimano derailleur and caliper brakes.

Can anyone give me a recommendation of what will work?

Total noob here.

Thanks
TD

2016-08-18 6:10 PM
in reply to: tomdwyeriv

User image

Veteran
Southampton, Ontario
Subject: RE: Shifter Recommendations
thats a slippery slope to go down. You obviously have an older bike so upgrading to new shifters will entail upgrading to 10 or 11 speed which means new shifters, deraileurs, cassette and chain, possibly chain rings too??.

Used you will need to find some older RSX shifters which might work - I cant say I have any experience with 7 speed set ups. I would suggest talking to an old guy at the LBS about your upgrade plans

Here is one on Ebay - probably the best bet to keep it reasonable (if it works with your deraileurs).

http://www.ebay.com/itm/RSX-3-X-7-Speed-Shifters-STI-Shimano-/11209...
2016-08-18 6:29 PM

User image

Veteran
Hudson Valley
Save yourself a headache and buy good used bike with the shifters you want.
Keep the bike you have for commuting and early season rides.
2016-08-19 9:50 AM

Thanks!

While I did purchase this bike new back in 2011 - it literally has only about 200+ miles on it and 95% of those are within the last 2 months as I have started riding for this sprint triathlon. So I would prefer not to spend hundreds of dollars yet until I complete my first event to see if I'll do more...my gut tells me I will but until then...trying to not get to deep.

I am thinking of replacing the shifters because I just don't like them and the feel very much like a "kids" bike.