General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Power meter Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-11-04 3:09 PM

User image

Smithtown, New York
Subject: Power meter
So after a great first year back in the sport I'm now beginning to use my HR monitor for running again and my power meter when I get on the bike next month. I just need a little clarification on it's use. Right now I'm an exercise physiology student and I'm having some fun using the HR monitor

Does it make sense to establish FTP using my aerobic HR zone? I am not willing to do an actual FTP until my first race since I can't afford to go at any hard intensities until then. Kinda trained too hard in the winter this year so lesson learned! Also Is using power similar to using running pace for training purposes?

2016-11-04 7:18 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cypress, TX
Subject: RE: Power meter

Originally posted by Rileyvb91Does it make sense to establish FTP using my aerobic HR zone?

Nope.

Originally posted by Rileyvb91I am not willing to do an actual FTP until my first race since I can't afford to go at any hard intensities until then. Kinda trained too hard in the winter this year so lesson learned!

None of that makes sense.  You want to establish some kind of baseline and how would you do that if you're not testing and inexperienced?  Otherwise you're just using your power meter as a super expensive bike computer with data that's not telling you much.

Originally posted by Rileyvb91Also Is using power similar to using running pace for training purposes?

Yes, but better.  Using speed/pace is subject to several variables.  A watt doesn't care how windy it is, how hilly it is, how hot it is, how hydrated you are, how nourished you are, how much you slept, etc.

Edited by GMAN 19030 2016-11-04 7:19 PM
2016-11-05 6:17 PM
in reply to: Rileyvb91

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member