General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newton Running Shoes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-11-14 2:17 AM

User image

Subject: Newton Running Shoes
I'm very seriously considering this option.

Here's my situation. I switched to a midfoot/forefoot strike and like magic, my knee pain disappeared.

This last summer, however, I started experiencing foot pain. I first thought it was plantar fasciitis, but now I think it's metatarsalgia, since the pain is right under the second toe in my left foot and no longer spread to my arch.

It seems switching more to a midfoot strike (and less forefoot), together with changing to the extra padding with Newton shoes would be a good approach.

What do all of you think of these shoes in general? And do you think the shoes will help my foot pain?

2016-11-17 8:46 PM
in reply to: Trilogy

Subject: RE: Newton Running Shoes
Hi there! I'm no doctor, but have pretty extensive experience as a competitive runner and someone who also benefitted greatly from adjusting to a more midfoot strike.

How long between your switch to the midfoot strike and this new foot pain start? Also, are there any other factors that might have caused the foot pain other than running form, such as an increase in training/racing volume/intensity? Things like these tend to create injuries much more readily than footwear.
2016-11-17 10:00 PM
in reply to: Dom@MBS

User image

Originally posted by Dom@MBS

How long between your switch to the midfoot strike and this new foot pain start? Also, are there any other factors that might have caused the foot pain other than running form, such as an increase in training/racing volume/intensity? Things like these tend to create injuries much more readily than footwear.