General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Off-season Depression Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-11-19 9:09 AM

User image

Subject: Off-season Depression
Simple question: how do you adjust to the off-season? I get a bit depressed because I have nothing to look forward to until late May.

I have been racing for 4 years, 3IMs, 6 70.3s, 3 Marathons, 5 Half Marys, numerous Olys.

Each year, I have struggled during the offseason to stay motivated to do much of anything from November - March. Michigan winters are cold and brutal, as well as very short days, so training outside is challenging.

I usually just do some treadmill running and light trainer riding, but nothing too structured.

The bigger issue for me is my weight during the winter. I don't necessarily "blow up," but I definitely am not very careful with my eating habits. That causes me to put on 10-15 and scramble in March-April to shed it.

Any ideas/suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone.

Jeff

2016-11-19 10:15 AM
in reply to: Jeff B

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Connecticut
Subject: RE: Off-season Depression
How about doing something fun and different? racket ball, cross fit (though I've heard you have to be careful about injuries), ballroom dancing, yoga, mountain climbing...
2016-11-19 10:17 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Expert
Floriduh
I usually still have structured workouts, just not as aggressive as my during-season training. I will start up again after Jan 1 for a mid-April race

Ahh, and the less careful eating and the extra pounds... You're on your own with that, tell me what you do, I need some ideas too.

Edited by Oysterboy 2016-11-19 10:19 AM
2016-11-19 10:38 AM
in reply to: Oysterboy

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS