General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Full IM - what did I do???? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-11-25 11:20 AM

User image

Subject: First Full IM - what did I do????
Oh my.....I just signed up for my first full last night. I've been debating doing a full for the past year or so but finally pulled the trigger last night when I saw that IM Florida was still open to general registration. I'm nauseous thinking about my decision today. I know that I can do this with my coach, but WOW is all I can say

I've been doing tris for almost 4 years now. I've completed 6 half IMs. My times have varied widely depending on the course. I've done Muncie twice with my PR there being 6:28:xx. I've also picked harder 70.3 courses (just for the beauty of the course and the destination vacation opportunities):

Lake Tahoe kicked my butt with time of 7:43:xx (the bike killed any hope of a decent run, and I'm sure the altitude didn't help as I live in Texas)
Hawaii 70.3 7:20:xx (dropped my chain twice on the bike but still managed a decent time, but the heat killed my run, especially running almost half of the run course on the golf course fairways)
Oceanside 70.3 7:05:xx (had a bit slower bike with the hills on Camp Pendelton and the winds coming back into town, but steady run).
Texas 70.3 6:53:xx (decent bike in the rain but the run turned into a sauna after the rain stopped)
Muncie 70.3 (my first ever 70.3, with no coach, got a coach shortly after this race) 7:07:xx

I do ok (for me) on flat courses. I'm not a fast swimmer but I have endurance. I manage ok in rougher waters (finished Escape from Alcatraz last year). I can handle the heat on the run if I don't burn too many matches on the bike course. I think with Florida's flat course, I can accommodate the heat on the run (plus it will likely be pretty late when I start my run).