General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Please help this newb tweek his training plan Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-12-05 10:19 AM

Subject: Please help this newb tweek his training plan
Hello,

I’m a 47 y.o. runner from Massachusetts, getting into triathlons for the 1st time. I’ve been running for 8 years and have notched several marathons, my PR from 2 years ago is 2:47:06. I have zero/nada experience cycling. I asked someone the other day if your trailing foot “pulls up” on the pedals; that’s how little I know about cycling, lol. As far swimming goes, I was a swimmer from a young age and was considered the “swimmer” in the local boy scout troop (swimming, life guarding and the mile-swim merit badges, lol) although I have no idea how “efficient” a swimmer I am. I haven’t swum and years and have never really done it for exercise. I don’t fear open water swimming.

I’m more interested in half/full IMs as opposed to sprints. I’ve always been intrigued by longer distance grueling, “will-to-go-on” type endurance events. I’d rather run a marathon than a 5K. I plan on doing a half IM next July, if that goes well possibly a full by the end of 2017.

For training, I’m under the assumption I need to work on swim/cycling endurance over and above anything else. I really have no idea where to start. I’m thinking of starting a beginner Olympic plan and do a simulated Olympic IM in March then immediately start training for the half (with another simulated Olympic in May or June). Is that the right approach? Bonus question, should I do any type of speed-work in 2017 if ever decide to be competitive in the future? Does it make sense to buy a power meter from the get-go?

Joe

2016-12-05 3:08 PM
in reply to: joay11

User image

Master
Columbus, Ohio
Coaching member
Subject: RE: Please help this newb tweek his training plan
Joe,