General Discussion Race Reports! » Beach2Battleship Half Iron Distance Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Beach2Battleship Half Iron Distance Triathlon - Triathlon

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Wilmington, North Carolina
United States
Set Up Events
66F / 19C
Sunny
Total Time = 6h 59m 43s
Overall Rank = 743/1060
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 76/93
Pre-race routine:

IM 70.3 NC was a short 14 months after my first sprint triathlon. I started training in late May for the event with a focus on swim and bike endurance. I began my taper following a 60-mile/10-mile brick workout four weeks before race day. The week of the event had me traveling to Portsmouth VA for a couple days of meetings for work. I hoped to get a few more easy training days in during the week but that didn’t happen. On the plus side, I could make the drive from northeast NC to Wilmington with my brother (and coach) Michael. We arrived in Wilmington late morning on Thursday and checked in early at the Hilton Riverside, which is only a couple blocks from IM Village. No line at check in, and we were in and out quickly after signing a couple dozen disclaimer forms. I don’t remember when we heard the bike course, which was shortened from 56 to 50, would be back to 56. But, we didn’t find out the final course until Friday. I stepped into the IM store and bought a shirt, visor, and towel. It was great to see my name alongside my brother’s this time! After a late quick lunch, the first wave of Sherpas (sister-in-law and nephew) arrived. Before dinner, I joined a short bike ride with about eight members of my brother’s tri team (Fat Frogs out of the Hampton Roads area) closer to Wrightsville Beach. We definitely could tell it was rush hour, so we spent most of our time on the Cross City Trail. We closed the day with dinner at the Front Street Brewery and dessert at Kilwins.