General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-12-30 8:42 AM

Subject: Hello
I'm from the UK and have signed up for my first triathlon in July 300m swim / 17km cycle / 3km run. I am 45 and slightly wobbly around the middle!

I am not experienced at all in swimming or cycling. I have run numerous half marathons and 4 full marathons but gave up running 12 months ago as fell out with it. I am in training presently for the Brighton marathon in April but was keen to keep my mojo going. I am 3 weeks in to a 16 week marathon training plan which incorporates 3 x 4-6 mile runs per week and a long run at the weekend (up to 12 miles presently). My fitness levels have dipped but I did complete 3 rounds of insanity at the beginning of this year and have exercised on and off so I am hoping that my fitness levels will improve again.

My plan is to have a private swimming lesson - I can swim but very much in a head out of the water type of way with no swim hat or goggles. I'm hoping that if I have this I can gain good technique and also some advice on the best hat and goggles.

I am going to buy myself a bike and have a fairly healthy budget but I am really worried about cleats.

My main concern is laying my equipment out, transition and not wearing the right outfit (I don't even really know if you can wear the same outfit to swim, cycle & run in).

2017-01-02 2:13 PM
in reply to: FionaO

User image

Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Hello

Hi FionaO, and welcome!  Wow, you have an impressive running portfolio!