BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Women Ready to Tri - OPEN Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2016-12-30 1:13 PM

User image

Decorah, Iowa
Subject: Women Ready to Tri - OPEN
GROUP FOCUS: Positive mentoring for women ready to start their triathlon careers OR make the jump to Olympic distance triathlons this season

NAME: Kate

STORY: My name is Kate. After spending more than a decade trudging through graduate school and raising my boys, all the while watching my weight climb up and up and up, I decided to make a positive change in my life. In 2014, staring my 40th birthday in the face, I decided to set a stupid, out-of-reach goal for myself. I decided to run an Olympic distance triathlon the following August, even though I had never attempted anything like that before. I then dove head first into training and haven't looked back.

I'm a former collegiate swimmer, newly passionate biker, and reluctant runner, but I'm improving! I'm also a college professor and have found added satisfaction mentoring other women ready to tri!

FAMILY STATUS: Married, two boys (13 and 10)

CURRENT TRAINING: Right now I am in Winter Maintenance mode, working on my running speed and trying to gain some additional core strength. I swim with our local Masters team three days a week, bike indoors three days a week, and run four. I am also a committed Iyanger yoga student (to which I credit much of my rededication to health!)

THIS YEAR'S RACES:
Last year I completed the Minnesota Lifetime Triathlon series, finishing second in my age group at Maple Grove, and third at Trinona. I also ran the Dallas Rock and Roll Half Marathon in March.

UPCOMING YEAR'S RACES:
My major goal is to go 2:35.00 for my last Olympic Distance triathlon. I'm also considering a late summer 70.3 (but shhhh...it is kind of a secret). The full summer season should be settled in the next few weeks.

WEIGHTLOSS: