General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New Triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-01-02 12:39 PM

Chesterfield, Virginia
Subject: New Triathlete
Hello everyone,

I recently decided that I wanted to pursue a triathlon. My first goal is just to complete a sprint. I am very new to the triathlon world. I played sports growing up but never ran or swam competitively.

I just purchased "The Triathlete's Training Bible: The World’s Most Comprehensive Training Guide, 4th Ed." by Joe Friel. I want to make sure I am training the correct way as well as receive tips to make sure I don't over train or injure myself. I know nutrition is going to be one of the most important things to consider and I'm hoping Joe Friel's book will help. Has anyone purchased this book or have any advice?

I would love to have a veteran mentor if anyone is interested. I am from Central New York (Syracuse area) but my family and I have been living in Richmond for the past 3 years. Anything will be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Geoff

Edited by Geoff29610 2017-01-02 12:39 PM

2017-01-02 2:16 PM
in reply to: Geoff29610

User image

Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: New Triathlete

Hi Geoff, and welcome!

You mentioned wanting a mentor - well you have excellent timing!  BT has mentor groups which are great for asking questions, getting tips, socializing, and meeting new friends.  The new round is just beginning for 2017, so the list of groups is a little small at the moment but will be opening up to more groups over the next few days. Browse around and find a group that seems to fit your outlook or needs. http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/forums/forum-view.asp?fid=115#s 

Good luck to you!

New Thread
General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New Triathlete Rss Feed  
RELATED POSTS

Semi-New Triathlete; New to BT

Started by ckulb7820
Views: 1055 Posts: 3

2016-07-04 12:15 PM HaydenHunter

brand new triathlete! and new BT

Started by kt65