General Discussion Triathlon Talk » FTP Conundrum- TrainerRoad Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-02-15 7:00 PM

Subject: FTP Conundrum- TrainerRoad
Hey all,
I've been training with TrainerRoad for about six months now. I had an FTP at 217, and went through the first six weeks of sweet spot training. After those six weeks I didn't test again, but was handling the workouts really well that I was doing, so I reset my FTP for 230.

I've been training for several more weeks now, and just did another eight minutes FTP test tonight, however only came in at 226. My pacing seemed good, my cadence was comfortable and fast, and I definitely didn't hold back as I was gassed at the end.

My question to those of you who use this program, why do I seem to be nailing the workouts with more success than what I test at?

I appreciate any feedback

2017-02-15 7:31 PM
in reply to: linkslefty

Master
Northern IL
Subject: RE: FTP Conundrum- TrainerRoad

It's only a few watts and sweet spot training isn't really going to take you to exhaustion. Not without doing what would be substantial amounts of it for most.

Also, if you're only doing sweet spot, you might not be quite as used to suffering with the hard efforts of over threshold, which an FTP test of any type will be. Pretty good sure, but I've tended to lack a bit of that going for broke feel with sweet spot emphasis in the past.

2017-02-15 10:07 PM

I'd test more often, once a month. It's possible to be able to hit the sweet spot workouts even with an overstated FTP because sweet spot training doesn't really make you hurt. Have you been mixing up the sweet spot training with anything harder? Many of their plans will have days with over/unders or intervals at FTP. You've got to hurt if you're going to make real progress in upping your FTP.
2017-02-16 6:59 AM
in reply to: ziggie204

User image

Expert
Middle River, Maryland
Silver member