General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Buying Road Bike (Specialized) - Need Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-02-23 11:13 AM

Subject: Buying Road Bike (Specialized) - Need Advice
Hi,

I'm pretty new to triathlon - did 2 sprints last year and registered to do NYC tri this year. I have a Trek 7.5fx which I'm trading in for a road bike. I had a fitting done on Monday and Specialized seems to fit me best. I tried Specialized 2016 Ruby Disc (shop with give me a discount as its 2016 model) and really like it; however, I've been doing some research and it looks like the 2017 Ruby Elite ($2,600) has 105 vs. the tiagra (10 speed), plus new shock system on the Elite. The shop did not have the Elite in stock so I couldn't try it. I'm new to all of those and was wondering if is worth spending the extra $1000 to get the 2017 Elite. Little background - I'm 52 female (ex-distance runner) due to patellofemoral arthritis I don't see myself doing more than Olympic tris as the running is difficult for me right now. Any advice or experience with the Ruby Disc would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2017-03-04 11:15 AM
in reply to: Decoydonna

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Buying Road Bike (Specialized) - Need Advice
I would spend the money on 105 over Tiagra... Not only is it a pain to work on, but it never stays true... it seems like after only a few rides, something is not working perfect any more... With 105, you set it up and it works with only minor tweaks (cable stretch primarily) for quite some time, depending on how much you ride and how well you take care of your bike, it can be a few years between service.

The Specialized Ruby is a great bike to start with, and I'm really glad to see that you did everything in the right order, bike fit first and then look for a bike that fits you, rather than bike first, then trying to make you fit the bike....
New Thread