General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming...and my overall anxiety about it Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-05-09 7:05 AM

User image

Lierskogen, Buskerud
Subject: Swimming...and my overall anxiety about it
I'm going to "bear" my soul a bit on this one. I hadn't planned on saying much, but I now my concern about the swim is actually building to some anxiety.

A little background: I have no triathlon experience before. But I train quite a bit and I've run long-ish distance (marathon and below) and done some long-distance bike racing. So, naturally, I've always wanted to do triathlon and this year I decided to do just that. My first race is an oly in late-July, and HIM in late-August.

I've now been swimming 2 times a week (more or less) since January this year. Once on my own and once on Wednesdays with the Masters group of our local swim club. I joined them based on input and everything I've read here.

I've enjoyed swimming with the group for social reasons and it helps to motivate me to go every week, but I dont' really "learn" anything from them. They moslyt do their thing and I do mine. They do offer encouragement. Very rarely, the coach of the fast kids, who swim next to us, comes over and I'll get a tip or two. But that's about it. I'll keep with them simply because I need to swim as much as possible before my two races...

Which leads to my questions/concerns, in no particular order:

1- My 100m splits are getting faster (1:56/100 last session), but I'm not going to "win any races". I'd say I'll be lucky if I can hold 2:00/100 for the race. That's my goal, based on my swimming so far, but based on everything I've read, that's really slow AND I'm not feeling like I can even hold that pace at the moment. So, should I be concerned?